So what camera equipment do you use?

Hrishikesh suggested we blog about the cameras and equipment we use. Here’s mine and I would love to see pictures of the equipment that other amateur but passionate photographers use.

I tag, Shail, Hitchwriter , Sangeeta Khanna, Gaurav and Hrishikesh.

Mine is a Nikon D7000 and Nikon 70-300mm VR for bird photos, am content with this one for now, but it’s of no use in poor lighting. I used the same lens without VR until July 2012, and always had to use a tripod, and missed some awesome bird-photo opportunities.

Also have Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G Lens (Standard Lens, no zoom). This one is a Prime lens. The f/1.8 is great for pictures without flash in poor lighting, but useless for clicking owls near our building because it has no zoom

Why not take pictures of our equipment and share them in one place with our experience with each lens?

Camera – Nikon D7000, since March 2012.

Lenses:

1.

Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G Lens (Standard Lens)

2.

Nikon AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300 mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED (4.3x) Lens (Zoom Lens)

Click to see Bird Photographs taken with this lens:

The neighbourhood Purple Sunbird.

A bird on a tree outside Anna Hazare’s home in Ralegaon Siddhi.

This afternoon.

And some more here,

Nikon AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300 mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED

25 thoughts on “So what camera equipment do you use?

  1. I have the 35 mm prime lens and a 18-125 mm lens which is not enough for bird pictures. Although I keep trying.
    35 mm prime is great form my food photography and portraits.
    Wishlist includes a tele lens 70-300 mm ..

  2. I like this idea of experience sharing. I saw my first camera as a teacher and not just an equipment. So I didn’t look for a very sophisticated machine.Currently I am using a Canon 1000D with an 18-55mm kit lens. In future I would love to buy a telephoto lens because I like to capture raw emotions. I hate clicking posers. Clicking with 18-55mm you always end up standing on the face of people.

    Moreover I love nature and its creatures, so a telephoto lens tops my list as of now. And by the way I have a blog too. I saw you mentioned people’s blog and my facebook. I don’t mind that, but just wanted to let you know, you can find me at http://www.gvsparx.blogspot.com too. 🙂

  3. I have a 18-55mm along with my first SLR which is Nikon D3100
    I hope to upgrade sometime next year… till then I keep begging and borrowing from friends who have better lens ! 😉

    I actually right now am in possession of a 55-200, 18-55 and 0.45x super wide angle lens with macro 😛 😛 😛 still just getting a hang of all these pics !!!

    wish list is endless.. I want one 35mm for food pics one 50 mm for potraits and one slr too so that I dont have to keep changing lens that often… and yes I would love to buy a 70-300mm !

    no wonder I call myself a bundle of desires !

  4. Pingback: The cameras that I use | And I write

  5. Pingback: Photographic equipment ~ a tag | Shail's Nest

Leave a Reply

